Lea County DWI Supervision
Providing Well-Rounded Services Together
The efforts of Lea County Probation's DWI Program and Compliance Divisions work hand in hand to attain the needed changes in behavior to shape their clients into successful members of society. With the collaboration of efforts from all divisions and the Health & Wellness Department, we increase the probability of success for each and every client.
The mission of the Lea County DWI program is to reduce the occurrences of drinking and driving and to provide best practices in DWI prevention and treatment, providing a stronger, safer community for lea county residents.
Chargeable BAC Levels
Required BAC to charge DWI = .08
Required BAC to charge DWI for commercial driver = .04
Required BAC to charge DWI for a minor = .02
You are in violation of New Mexico’s DWI laws when you drive a vehicle with a blood or breath alcohol content of .08% or higher, or by driving while impaired due to the influence of drugs or alcohol.
A DWI conviction can have both civil and financial consequences. New Mexico drunk driving criminal court cases can result in punishment that includes jail time, fines, mandatory DWI educational programs, ignition interlock devices, and more. A DWI conviction may result in a driver’s license suspension from 90 days to one year or more.
1st Offense - Misdemeanor
- An ignition interlock license for 1 year with an ignition interlock device in every vehicle driven during that time
- Up to 90 days in jail
- Up to a $500 fine
- Up to 1 year on probation
- Mandatory Penalties: 24 hours community service, DWI School, Victim Impact Panel, completing a substance abuse screening, and following all recommended treatment
Additional DWI Offense Information
Aggravated DWI occurs when .16 BAC or above, and/or being involved in a crash that caused bodily injury while driving impaired.
1st offense: in addition to the basic sentence, additional 2 days in jail.
2nd offense: in addition to the basic sentence, additional 4 days in jail.
3rd offense: in addition to the basic sentence, additional 60 days in jail.